Video Remix – Assignment 3

My aim for this assignment was to remix my found footage so much that I can’t see any similarities to the original. To do this I took one clip from my previous assignment. This was from Vanilla Ice’s music video ‘Ice Ice Baby’. I also found a video of coloured spiralling visuals from YouTube, as well as clouds moving in the sky.

Through the editing program iMovie, I used the effect black and white to first alter the footage all the clips I found. To further alter the clip of the girl dancing from the music video, I slowed the clip down.

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 7.35.56 pm

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 7.35.27 pm

The main aspect of my editing process included layering footage over other content in a way that would make two images blend together and create an image that is unrecognisable. I was able to layer two clips together, however when it came to implementing a third clip to blend with the rest of the video, I needed to export what I already had and then opened that file into another project. This allowed me to layer as many clips and effects as I wanted. To make the blending more seamless, I used a tool that messily erased the girl dancing in the music video in order to only show aspects of the girl as well as the spirals and clouds in the background. This was enough to make my video indistinguishable from the original. I found that the more I layered, the more the video blurred into random pictures and they didn’t have much meaning anymore.

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 7.36.35 pm

The audio that accompanies the video is from the music video ‘Ice Ice Baby’. However, I used the effect rewind to speed it up to create that 90s vibe of a rewinding tape. My intention was to keep the old school presence within my video, similar to the music video.

Leave a Reply

