Final Assessment

For my final assessment I chose to create a glitchy video because I was inspired by the ones that were screened in class. I tried to the best of my ability to emulate something similar to what already exists to my knowledge of video editing programs.

To test my own skills I create my own glitchy video in the editing program Premiere Pro. Needless to say, this task was very difficult and time consuming but I was up for the challenge. I should have written everything down, step by step, as I went because the process entailed a lot of detailed editing. Although, I became so immersed in trying to perfect my video that hours went by editing and I forgot to take note of how I was creating my video. However, my first concept was to repeat the shots and audio throughout.

I was going to start off with the visuals I took of patterns and walking on the way home one day however it was difficult to sync an audio piece with it. So I used these in a different way.  In premiere pro I clicked on the effects tab and into the Lumetri Scopes which showed me the wave forms of the videos I had taken on my way home. I liked the look of these coloured wave forms so I instantly took a video of it for around 40 seconds on my phone and uploaded it straight into premiere pro. This is where it got difficult.

I layered the footage of the wave forms and the footage i filmed and blended them by changing the opacity. I included the pattern of a fence and my footsteps popping sparingly in the background of the video.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 3.26.05 pm

I put the effect Flanger and Shadow/Highlight for a slightly different look on the visuals. I made many cuts to make my video appear as realistic as possible. I also added the effect of a Time Code. This impacts the video as the jumping in the time contributes to the glitching and malfunctioning of the clip.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 5.53.21 pm Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 7.50.31 pmScreen Shot 2015-10-15 at 7.43.27 pm

I tried my best to sync the audio with the visuals, so when the screen flashes white, i matched the clicking sound with it.  As well as the faded footage on my footsteps, intendedly matches the sound of the effected nail clicking audio piece to match the steps I was taking. I ended up using other programs including audacity to record a few sounds like clicking my fingers and flicking my nail to the beat of walking and glitching. One consistent audio piece was my clicking and had the cosmos effect put on top once sped up to begin with.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 5.52.48 pm Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 5.52.35 pm Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 5.52.27 pmScreen Shot 2015-10-15 at 8.39.46 pm

Viewing other glitching videos had an impact on me while watching them. For example, I would constantly have the need to look away, I would feel uncomfortable and certain parts of the art work went for too long that it was disturbing. Due to these outcomes and my experiences, my conceptual idea was to create something to have a similar effect of my audience. By the end of my hours and hours of editing, my own video became uncomfortable to watch because I had been working on it for way too long.

Throughout this process of making my version of a glitchy video I learnt that remixing is hard. Huge credit and admiration goes into remix artists who spend so much time and effort creating their art works. Coming up with a two minute video was very difficult for myself so props to those create these for a living.

Leave a Reply

